Hurricane Sandy & November 2012

On October 29, 2012 Hurricane Sandy hit New York City. It was one of the worst hurricanes I’ve lived through and we lost power for 10 days. Gas stations were closed, supermarkets, stores, banks, everything was shut down. No power anywhere, at least the first few days. I slept through the 12 hour ordeal, doped out of my mind. I remember laying in my bed in my cold, dark room because the power had shut off at some point in the middle of the night. And all I heard was the howling winds, rain splashing down and things banging around outside all night. I woke up the next day to a candle lit house with no power. We prepared very little, so we suffered those first few days. It was way worse than expected. But my drug dealer was good and he was around and that’s all that mattered. I took the last $50 dollars I had in my wallet and drove through empty, eerie streets. It was so fucking weird. There wasn’t many people on the roads, there were trees down everywhere, power-lines down everywhere, none of the traffic signals worked. It was chaotic. But I remember driving to score that day to meet JoJo on 5th Ave and Broad St. in Bethlehem, PA. It was like 10 or 11 AM. I couldn’t get gas for my car or a hot meal if I wanted to at that very moment, but I could sure as hell get heroin mere hours after a major hurricane hit and caused over $60 billion worth of damage in the US alone. And I saw JoJo the next day on Halloween and the day after that. I went 10 days without power in my house, some people less, some people MORE. People are dead, scrambling to survive a hard time and here are my drug dealer and I doing the same thing as always. I vividly remember those 10 days. It all starts to blur together after a while. The cold bedroom because there’s no heat and it’s November now; the end of autumn. The stale breakfast sandwiches from McDonald’s every morning. No internet, TV or computer. The long boring wait, hoping the power would return any second. The first few days I was generally OK. I could cop my dope in the morning sometime and be well into the night. Then I’d wake up sick and do it again. But, as the days wore on and the situation grew worse, the money and resources ran out. Nothing was open so I couldn’t shoplift or pass a check at a bank. JoJo was becoming more unreliable, and I am sure he was running low on product unable to re-up. By the week mark, things were very hard and not only was I uncomfortable because I didn’t have basic social and human necessities, but I was growing dope sick unable to make a move and score for a day here and two days there. My job was shut down so I couldn’t even go to work or ask for an advance on pay. It sucked so bad I went out to Allentown to my uncle’s apartment to stay for 2 days on my last bit of gas and bags on credit. He had power back after 2 days because he lived blocks from a hospital and was on a more urban electrical grid. When I returned home 2 days later, dope sick and to a house STILL with no power I was at my wit’s end. Somehow I managed to find 2 roxy 30mg pills and 2 10mg methadone pills. The very last drops of what I had drug or money wise. I remember cooking those two crushed pills up in my cold, dark room. Trying to hit a vein in the dark so so hard. I remember having to use a little flash light. Then I went upstairs and laid on the couch, trying to enjoy the little, tiny bit of euphoria I had, waiting and ready to get sick again in another 12 hours, when suddenly the whole house buzzed on. The lights went on, TVs came on and central heat hummed. Finally. I vividly remember those days. More so than others. I was in a rehab in Fort Pierce, FL weeks later just after Thanksgiving. November of 2012 was a rough month.

2 thoughts on “Hurricane Sandy & November 2012

  1. From 2009-2011 it was basically short -term inpatient rehab then an Intensive Outpatient program which I dropped out of in 3 weeks. Went through 2009 litigating a MAJOR court case I was facing prison years on, still getting high the whole year. Got a job, attempted to go back to college (dropped out after a semester and 3 weeks into my 2nd I was finally sentenced for the case to 2 years probation) The night before I go meet my PA State Parole Officer (my probation was moved out to PA since I was at my parents house at the time) I was getting high until 4am and went and seen him at 8am. Immediately failed a urine, 5 minutes after meeting him and yelling back and forth with him, I was sent up to a state prison for a few weeks to detox, then into a 3-4 month intensive inpatient treatment facility rehab/therapeutic community (nothing like I ever experienced before. I will write about it soon). Got out of there in mid-2010 and stayed straight for 2 weeks, then back to opiates and then heroin, but I managed to enroll in a trade school/get 2 jobs during all this. A few minor arrests here and there in between that got dismissed, dropped, expelled. A few outpatient programs and counseling sessions I was required to do after failing another urine a year later in 2011, still barely holding my shit together. Stayed the course of a junkie all through 2011-2012 but since my parole was up in Feb of 2012, I was seeing my PO every 3 months at this point and didn’t give a shit. Once I was off parole in Feb 2012, began a bad, bad downward spiral the whole year-long run until November. 3 weeks after Hurricane Sandy hit, I hit a bad bottom and went to a rehab in Fort Pierce, FL for 6 weeks. Instead of staying there and pursuing recovery houses/halfway houses and sober life, I went back up north and was drunk in the airport on the way home already with my roommate. Relapsed that night on Suboxone. I got home Jan 01, 2013. So I was high, opening some late Christmas presents not even 12 hours out of a rehab. The next 3 months I got bad again and really got my family upset with my actions, so I decided to go try a halfway house in FL I heard about during my rehab stay. Half of me wanted it, half for my family–so I wasn’t fully committed myself and I was sick when I arrived. I immediately hooked up with a childhood friend who was a junkie transplant from NJ and we got high and ripped and ran in FL for 2 months straight, committing crimes every day to support ourselves. Dope there sucks, so I had to resort to pills. Failed a urine at the house. Was admitted to a psych ward for a night to ‘detox’. Left that place after 3 days back into the halfway house and continued my run. Finally said fuck it, I hate this place, I have no money, the job prospects are low, no car/license, etc. So I flew home and within an hour off the plane I was meeting my dealer for real good powder heroin. This is June of 2013. I got a car and job right away and was somewhat doing OK. But then, that began my run until Jan 08, 2014 when I was arrested for multiple shoplifting charges, thefts, conspiracy for running a shoplifting ring, various driving under suspended charges. The whole gamut. Called a methadone clinic 2 weeks later barely on the edge of dying or prison and they got me in within a day for intake and I was dosed 2 days later. Ever since then, I have been there 6 months re-building my life. I am sure I am missing some arrests such as my first possession charge, a DUI, attempted burglaries and robberies, etc. But I am a lucky motherfucker and escaped it all with no jail time. Here I am July 14, 2014 — 6 months on methadone, doing AMAZING. But always remembering where I came from. This is just a short version of this all. I will be expanding on various of these topics in future posts. If any spark your interests, let me know and I could write a piece or two about it. I got some ideas flowing for the next few postings myself.

    Thanks for the comments.
    Hoping to get the word out of this blog for harm reduction, to tell my experiences, strengths and hopes whether good or bad and it helps me in my journey to living a good life on methadone ‘clean’ at the moment. Thank you all.

Leave a comment